RIP Google+: Firm officially shuts down its failed social media network today and begins to wipe users’ content from the site

Google’s ill-fated social network has officially met its demise.

Starting today, the search giant is beginning the process of deleting all user content uploaded to Google+, making good on its promise last December to shut down the site.

While Google+ had amassed millions of users, very few of them were actually posting on the site, causing it to gradually fade into obscurity over the ensuing years since its launch.

As of today, if users visit the Google+ website, they’ll see a slightly depressing notice: ‘Google+ is no longer available for consumer (personal) and brand accounts.

‘From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place,’ it continues.

The future of Google+ appeared grim when the firm announced last October that a bug had exposed the data of 500,000 users.

Google also knew about the breach long before it disclosed it publicly.

The final nail in the coffin came months later, when Google revealed that a separate breach exposed the personal data of 52.5 million users.

Original Source

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *