Whoopi Goldberg, Awkwafina, Jennifer Lopez and Daniel Craig will be among those presenting this month’s awards

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Science has announced the first round of Oscars presenters, following accusations that it pressured actors to avoid presenting at other awards ceremonies before the ceremony later this month.

The first list of presenters includes the Crazy Rich Asians stars Awkwafina and Constance Wu, former Golden Globes hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, best actress winners Brie Larson and Charlize Theron, as well as Daniel Craig, Chris Evans, Whoopi Goldberg, Jennifer Lopez, Maya Rudolph, Amandla Stenberg and Tessa Thompson.

The Oscars will presumably rely more heavily on presenters this year, as the show is without a host for the first time in 30 years after the Academy’s pick, Kevin Hart, became embroiled in controversy due to past homophobic tweets. (Hart initially recused himself from hosting, then seemed open to returning, with Ellen DeGeneres’s blessing, on her daytime talkshow; he ultimately declared himself “over it” and ruled hosting out.)

The lack of host has put more pressure on securing high-profile presenters – pressure that has allegedly translated into intimidationfor actors to not appear at other awards ceremonies in the run-up to the Oscars.

In a statement last month, the Screen Actors Guild union, Sag-Aftra, claimed that an “extraordinary and unwarranted pressure” was being placed on their members to appear on stage at the Oscars without previously presenting at the Sag awards.

“We have received multiple reports of these activities and have experienced firsthand the Academy’s graceless pressure tactics and attempts to control the awards show talent pipeline,” the statement read.

Original Source


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.